My afternoon defending domainers

After reading Julia’s post which eventually geared me towards this article on the Register, I was annoyed to read the comments of some readers. I strongly felt I HAD  to clarify some things, so I commented too.

It is hard to take in comments like the one made by Ron Green. But I guess this is how we, domainers, are seen from the outside world . (Yes, it is an outside world if you are not into domaining). It’s the harsh truth.

I am tired of people associating domaining with cybersquatting . Domainers need a re-branding. An urgent one. You can start right now, it’s not going to be easy, but I believe it can be done.

If every domainer makes a common effort, to inform people around them about the industry , explain domaining to them, stop/condemn those who register trademark names in bad faith, stop bickering about each other’s portfolio and focus on theirs and ways to make the world know who we are,

we would all be winners.

I will defend domainers everytime I read/hear BS* about this community.

Ritz

5 Responses to My afternoon defending domainers

  1. Jamie Zoch says:

    Thank you for standing up for our industry and the good guys Ritz! Just like it will take ALL domainers to get the word out about the value of domain names, but also set the record for the people who think domainers and squatters are in the same boat.

  2. Glad to hear you sticking up for us Domainers if you ever need someone to cover you in a domain battle Im happy to help!

    I think we do need to educate more people as to what domaining is most people dont have a clue and brand us as cybersquatters!

    Regards,

    Robbie
    Founder
    RegFeeNames.com

  3. belshass says:

    Cheers Guys,
    We’ve got a lot of work to do!

  4. Jay M says:

    Hats off to yah Ritz..

    I fail to understand that why they dont get it!!

    Just like people invest in buying houses, real properties, us domainers invest in buying virtual properties cuz we reckon & probably know that virtual is the (NEXT, for some) BIG THING 🙂

    J

  5. […] but bridges are being built. We need to work together to make ‘our world’ known.  Educate those outsiders so that we are better understood and can all reap the fruits of our […]

Leave a Reply

